Since I’m a newbie, I wrote this for myself :P

In the past two days, I did two small mistakes and caused myself to reinstall Fedora 11 twice. (In other words, I’ve installed it 3 times ^^;)

Here are the two mistakes.

1. Installing Linux without Double Checking Partitioning

This is intuitive for Windows users who are used to clicking “next” to make things work. For Linux users, this habit should be reduced, especially during Linux installation.

In Fedora 11 installation, it is true that you can click “next” to make it installed. However, if you don’t review the partitions during Linux installation, you’ll have difficulty to know where your other operating systems are. This is true even though you choose to fill up space or replace existing Linux version.

How I got the mistake and the fatal effect:

I didn’t review the partitions and somehow, when I booted to Windows Vista, I got Rescue and Recovery 4 on my laptop screen. Then I thought that my Vista was corrupted, and I should recover it to factory state using my laptop’s recovery disks.

Without a 1.5 thought, I recovered the whole Vista and found out that I had to reinstall Linux.

While I was reinstalling Linux, I just saw the review partition option and found out that “Other” in boot manager didn’t point to Vista’s location. So, actually I didn’t have to recover my Vista.

How to avoid:

I must check the partitioning during Linux installation, and make sure that the boot manager points to the correct locations of operating systems.

2. Adding (Erroneous) Executable Bash Scripts to Folder /etc/profile.d and Log Out

How I got the mistake:

I added a bash script to that folder which, I guess, contains an invalid path. That time I didn’t think that the path is invalid, but now I think so. :P

The fatal effects:

I logged out and somehow I could not log in anymore even though I have entered valid password. After that, I restarted my laptop, got into Fedora, and somehow I even couldn’t see any user that are listed in Users and Groups.

So, I tried to delete the troublesome bash script using single user mode, but… Uh-oh… I couldn’t use ls, rm, chmod, or anything that make that script deleted or not executable!!

How to avoid:

Next time if I have to mess around with bash scripts in profile.d, I must be sure that they don’t have any mistake. If I’m not sure whether they have mistakes, I should use virtualization instead.

