Course Type: Core
Academic Unit (AU): 2

My Opinion about HW110:

Effective Communication discussed about putting communication style at the right time, place, context, and something like that. Types of communication which mainly discussed were spoken, written, and mixed [spoken + writen] communications. This subject also discussed why some communication was ineffective.

Grade parameters:

  • 4 Assignments

Assignment 1 (written, individual)

Task: To correct a written-styled speech to be more spoken-styled. This assignment was done in a tutorial session.

While I was doing the assignment, the I was trapped to keep the whole speech in the same style. The reason was that at that time, I still had not caught the idea about written style and spoken style. In addition, I was used to write as formal as I could.

Some days after that, I asked my friends what was my assignment about. Then I realized my assignment result could be B+ if I wrote the speech using my own words and understanding without caring about grammar and vocabulary.

Assignment 2 (written, a group of 4 or 5)

Tasks:

  • To observe a video about ineffective communication between a father and his son.
  • To write an essay of less than 1000 words that describes their mistakes and how to correct them.

Since there were many ideas, this assignment needed much time to sort all of them.

This requires good understanding of lectures and English proficiency.

Assignment 3 (oral, individual)

Task: To deliver free topic speech in 2 to 3 minutes. Everything could be brought to help demonstration as long as it was not presentation slide(s) that contained text to be read in front.

The key was to give speech with clear transitions among introduction, each main point (the maximum number of main points were 3), and conclusion. Another thing to consider was the expression while giving speech.

Assignment 4 (written, individual)

Task: To compose reflection papers in very limited number of words; to describe whether the group assignment was effective, 3 lessons learned from this subject, and how to apply them to life.

I spent more time to shorten my papers…